Texas Babies

Didn't get the job :(

While I'm okay I think about it I am still a little bummed. It would have meant a great opportunity for my family but there are still a ton of positions I am applying for actually within my field. Plus one or two that aren't but are good jobs. Just have to keep plugging away. I really need to get a good job.

Re: Didn't get the job :(

• Bummer! What is your occupation?
  • I've been a teacher for 8 years but I am looking to get into research. I just finished an old biology degree I had started years ago. I have been teaching science for 8 years but now I can actually do the job I had intended to do when I was doing the degree before. So I'm looking at like research positions at the health science center and lab positions at other labs.:)
  • Loading the player...
  • Don't know if you have a graduate degree, but....

Usually you need a PhD for a lot of the positions at Southwest Research (they won't even look at you without a Masters), but they actually use a lot of "temp" lab techs with biology degrees (at least a few years ago they did).  If you want to do something while you are looking, you can see if they have any openings at the temp agencies SWR uses. 

I was actually a temp lab tech there for awhile doing soils testing while I was finishing my engineering degree a few years ago.  The lab i was in was actually all biology folks - they did extractions and testing for anything from cancer causing agents in vacuum bag dust from a town that had a high cancer rate, to pesticide testing for HEB on their produce, to testing on dead animals found in areas thought to be contaminated with something.  I want to say the temp agency I went through (and the other temp biology folks in the lab) was TAD Technical over in Alamo Downs office park, but that was a few years ago, so I have no idea if they are still around.  The pay is really good since they don't provide benefits (because of the temp status).