Preemies

Any advice on how to prepare for a preemie?

My 2 older kids were born at term, so I have no experience with preemies and I'm feeling really overwhelmed.

Baby has a large placental cyst right next to her umbilical cord which is sometimes pressing against the cord.  It was found at my 20 week u/s, I'm now having weekly u/s to check on the cord and her growth.  So far she is doing great, today she measured 3 lb 4 oz.  My high risk OB has told me that at the first sign of distress I will be admitted, given steriod shots and she'll be delivered.  If she continues to do well he'll take her at 34 weeks.

I feel so sad and overwhelmed right now and I just don't know what I can do to prepare.  I can't imagine having baby in the NICU and 2 other kids at home.  Any advice would be very appreciated.  Also my dr said if they take her at 34 weeks they wouldn't necessarily do the steriod shots, is that normal?

Thanks ladies

DS - June 2006 DD1 - November 2007 DD2 - August 2010

Re: Any advice on how to prepare for a preemie?

• i'm so sorry you have to go through this! my preemie is my first child, so i can't even imagine having this experience with 2 other little ones at home!

the only advice i can give you is to ask the dr for the steroid shots sooner than later. they really make a difference. by the time i was admitted (bleeding from a previa), i didn't have time and DS didn't get the full benefit of the shots. while he's fine now, i wish i would have gotten them earlier.

good luck and keep us updated! here's to at least another 6 weeks!