3rd Trimester
Options

water breaking vs. peeing your pants

I am so worried that I am not going to realize my water broke-stupid i know. This is my first time going through this so I don't know hat to expect. Anyways, what if you are taking a bath or shower would you be able to tell. What if you peed your pants a little? How much water comes out when it breaks? Is it noticeable?

Re: water breaking vs. peeing your pants

• Options
    thank you for posting this!! i have been sitting here wondering the same thing. i feel like i should know this as a 2nd timer but my water never broke last time- they broke it at the hospital. 
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
  • Options
    Lambie.Lambie. member
    If your water breaks, you will keep leaking up until when you deliver.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I had my water broken last time but I imagine the feeling would be very similar - it was (to me) a huge gush of fluids that I could not control, with each contraction more came out.   So, if you feel like you are peeing in your pants and you can't stop it or it continues at regular intervals after you've emptied your bladder, it's probably worth a call to OB. 
  • Options
    When your water breaks it will continue to leak until you deliver your baby.  I went to the hospital with a towel shoved between my legs.
    Brooke 10.15.08 & Molly 6.15.10

Photobucket

• Options

imageLambie.:
    If your water breaks, you will keep leaking up until when you deliver.

This.  You will know.  With B I was going to the bathroom right before we left for the hospital.  I finished peeing and was still leaking...it is a different sensation.  I kept leaking for hours then after.  Also, if you are worried that your water will break in the shower/bath and you wont notice...not so much.  It is a lot of fluid, and generally you get a slow leak and not one big gush. 

• Options