Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss
Options

Told my students...

I'm going back to work on Monday, where i'm a teacher. I'm actually a long term substitute teacher and i have been in for the same teacher since February 22nd. So i'm currently teaching 5th grade until May 18th. I was due May 26th, and i joked about trying my best to make it till the 18th.

Last Wednesday when I went into that appointment, the kids all knew where i was going and why. It was the first day I took off since being in that class... the first time they needed a sub for the sub. And i've been out ever since.

I found out when I went in that the kids were not told anything. I don't know if i liked that or didn't like that. I also didn't know if the kids should be told, but I also knew I couldn't deal with 22 - 10 year olds asking about my baby. Luckily the principal was great and told me to do whatever I needed to do.

DH and I went up to the classroom during lunch, where the substitute was there and I was able talk to her about what she taught. I felt bad, I had no plans ready!!

But once the kids came back from lunch I told them. I used very 5th grade language, and told them that it happens to 1 in 200 women so not to be worried about anyone they know. (A few of their mothers are pregnant) I just had to be that 1.

They asked their 10 year old questions. If I get pregnant again will this happen again? Are you going to use her name for another baby? (they all knew what her name meant to me) And then the one that got me, right before I was leaving.. "Mrs. B? Are you ok?" They can be sweethearts!

But now i know that when I return to work on Monday, I will be ok. It was difficult to see my co-workers when i walked in today, but that'll make Monday easier. I know some of them were shocked to hear that I was coming back at all. I only have 12 more school days with this class before the teacher comes back. But i have to go back, to keep my mind busy.

BFP#1 {Cashew} - 9.19.09 EDD 5.26.10