High-Risk Pregnancy

GD and Ketones

HI! I'm a newbie! I was diagnosed w/ GD last week and have started the diet and testing. However, I was wondering, how many of you also have to check your ketones? And if you've had spilling, what did you do to manage it? And if you have any other info, please share!

Re: GD and Ketones

• I had to add more protein to my nightly snack to lower my ketones.  My normal nightly snack consists of strawberries (1 cup and 1/4) lite whipped topping and a 2% string cheese.  Since this tends to work for me, I have pretty much stuck with it.  You kinda got to experiment with it at first, at least that is what I had to do.

GL!  It will get easier, I promise!

Married 2007
    DS - 5/2010
    DD - 6-2013
    TTC #3 - Cycle #9

• The only time I ever tested positive for Ketone is when i ate a huge supper with no carbs.  They told me to make sure I am meeting my carb allowance.  It is all very confusing to me!
  • Loading the player...
  • I'm forever spilling ketones and I just try to get more carbs which also means more protein. Only 3 more weeks of this garbage for me!!!
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickersAlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers www.foreverfactor.blogspot.com
  • I continue to have "trace" or "small" for keytone readings most every morning. What is weird to me is that even on days when my blood sugar readings are on the high end, which I assume means I am getting plenty of carbs, I still have keytones in the mornings.  My doctor said that she doesn't really believe in monitoring keytones, it is the dietician that tells me to do so. My doctor said only to be concerned if there is a large amount of keytone spillage, which I haven't had yet.  
  • If you start spilling ketones that means your are depriving yourself and the baby of sugar or your body is not using blood sugar properly.  Here is what Ketones mean: