High-Risk Pregnancy

Introduction

I wanted to take a second and introduce myself.  I was told on Tuesday that I have gestational diabetes and toxemia.  After the 24 hr. urine test, my doctor confirmed the toxemia todayl, is having me do the urine test again (to make sure the liver functions are okay??) and I have to go back on Monday to check my bp again.  As far as the GD, I go see the high risk doctor on Tuesday, but I don't really know what to expect.  I've done some research about the diet and am trying to stick to it - I just need to do low carb, low sugar, high protein, right?  My husband is out of town, and I am a little overwhelmed.  I don't know what to expect.  My dr. is starting to bring up light duty and bed rest, but I am a teacher and only have 5 weeks of school left.  What are the chances of me being put on bed rest? 

Re: Introduction

• Welcome to the club no one wants to be in! 

The diet isn't that bad, but definitely took some getting used to, for me.  Basically, the dietician gave me a carb range for each meal, and 3 snacks a day.  For me it's 30-45g for breakfast and 45-60g for lunch and dinner, with 15-30 per snack.  You'll probably be testing your blood sugar first thing in the morning, and either 1 or 2 hours after each meal.  The whole diet/carb process is pretty much trial and error.  You may find that some carbs and meals will give your really good numbers, and other's will give you terrible numbers.  Unfortunately, all carbs are not equal!  Eventually you figure out what works for you, and get into a routine.  

Combining your carbs with protein and veggies at each meal/snack also can help keep your blood sugar in control.  Moderate exercise after each meal (about 10 minutes or so) can also go a long way in helping your numbers.

Hope this helps.  There's lots of great support on this board, so check back often! 

Edit-Just saw the part about possible bed rest. Ask your dr about the exercise! 

Love: 8.10.99
    Marriage: 12.18.04