New Jersey Babies

Hospitals - Central NJ

I'm new to Central NJ and want to know what Hospital I should make sure my OB is affiliated with?  Any recommendations as to which ones people loved?

Re: Hospitals - Central NJ

• I don't know from personal experience, but my friend just delivered at St. Barnabas in Livingston and had a very positive exerience. That's where I will be delivering as well (I'm due in August).
  • There aren't really any hospitals in central NJ that I would suggest that you stay away from.  Overall, most of the maternity units have a decent reputation.  If you are concerned that you may have a premature baby or if your pregnancy is high risk, a place like St Peter's in New Brunswick, Robert Wood Johnson in New Brunswick, Morristown Memorial in Morristown and Capital Health in Trenton are good. They have the high level NICUs.  If you want something a little smaller and less hectic as far as maternity units go, Hunterdon Medical in Flemington, Somerset Medical in Somerville and Princeton Medical are good.  I believe they all have tubs that you can labor in.  Capital Health and Morristown also have laboring tubs.  I think some providers at Morristown even let you have waterbirths.  I think Hunterdon has the biggest and nicest laboring rooms.  If you want an epidural, any of the hospitals are fine there.  If you want a drug free birth, Hunterdon, Capital Health, Princeton and Morristown are probably the best (depending on provider of course!).  Here is a good site for looking at hospital birth statistics.
    R & R: est 2003 LOs: 4/2005, 10/2007, 2/2011 Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...