Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss

question

Hey ladies, 

This is my first time posting here... My husband and I recently found out that I had a missed miscarriage. I should be at 12 weeks today but after my ultrasound, we learned that the baby stopped growing at 6 weeks. This is especially hard for us because this was our first pregnancy after 2 years of infertility. I go in for a D&C on Friday. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what kind of sedation they opted for? My doctor explained that my options are local, twilight, or general anesthesia.  Is one better than the other? I'm scared to go with the general and am kind of leaning towards the twilight option. Thanks for listening.. 

TTC since 2007. Dx PCOS 6/2010
4 unsuccessful rounds of Clomid
Clomid 50mg - BFP #1 - February 7, 2010 Missed miscarriage March 25, 2010
Clomid 100 mg - BFP #2 - October 28, 2010 Chemical pregnancy November 4, 2010
IUI #1 - Gonal-F + Ovidrel = BFN
IUI #2 - Femera + Gonal-F + Ovidrel + Endometrin = BFN
IUI #3 - Gonal-F + Ovidrel + Endometrin = BFN
IUI #4 - Gonal-F + Ovidrel + Endometrin = BFN
IUI #5 - Menopur + Gonal-F + Ovidrel + Endometrin = BFN
IVF #1 - Microdose Lupron Flare protocol = BFN
FET = BFN - lost all remaining embryos
IVF 2.0 - In progress. 20 retrieved. 16 mature. 10 fertilized with ICSI. 3, grade I embryos transferred, 7 made to freeze. Currently in the 2ww.

Re: question

• I'm so sorry for your loss.

I wasn't given an option, but I was under general anesthesia. I had never been under that kind of anesthesia before and I did OK. I was just groggy afterwards and slept most of the day. I felt fine the next day, at least physically. I hope everything goes well.

• I wasn't given a choice either but had general. To be honest, I was glad to not be awake for it because it would have been too emotional. It was nice waking up and knowing it was done even though the tears came flooding out at that point.
  • Loading the player...