Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months
Options

taking the bottle away- Help!

My daughter never took bottles, so I am new to this.  I weaned ds at 9mths and now I'm trying to switch him to sippies.  It isn't going so well. 

How did you go about taking the bottle away?  What age did you start?  Did you do it cold turkey?

Help!  Thanks.  =)

Re: taking the bottle away- Help!

• Options

Just took it away last week, he was down to 2 a day of milk but I just waited till he was ready and it was much easier. He would never drink milk out of a cup and then one day just did!

I know others have had luck moving to a soft mouthed sippy like a nuby so it still feel like a bottle, you could try that, go cold turkey, or just wait a few more months and don't rush it. good luck.

Jackson arrived 7/7/08! BFP2 7.15.10 D&C 8.17.10 BFP3 8.10.11 MC 8.16.11 BFP4 9.22.11 MC 10.13.11
  • Options

We transitioned to milk at one year, then one bottle to a sippy at a time. He was taking four bottles, we did away with the afternoon one first. He got a sippy to replace it.

At first he didn't really care for the sippy but then he got the hang of it. (We only use straw sippies, not the spout ones.) About a month later we dropped the mid-morning bottle and replaced it with a sippy. Then maybe 1.5 mos later we dropped the morning bottle. I was so scared to drop the night bottle but at 17 months I offered him a little snack and a sippy before bed instead of a bottle and he was totally fine with it.

GL!

Brendan 06.30.08
    Pregnancy Ticker
    c/p 02.26.10
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    We transitioned to sippies at 11 months.. though they do still get 1 bedtime bottle.  We started practicing randomly at 6 months and then were practicing with water at all meals around 10 months.  They were not attached to their bottles at all and were just fighting them so sippies worked better for us.

• Options