Northern California Babies

Poll for those that do or have pumped

I've never felt that I have had supply issues but I don't seem to get much when I pump...

1.) How often do/did you pump (per day or week)?

2.) How many ozs on each side would you get?

3.) How many mins do/did you pump for?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Poll for those that do or have pumped

• I'm brand new to this but here's my experience:

1) I pump after each feeding and sometimes in place of a feeding.  WITH bf, I can't keep up with every 2 hours.

2) I get between a few drops and a half an ounce per side after a feeding.  A little over an ounce (maybe 1.5 ounces) each side in place of a feeding

3) I pump for 5 minutes after a feeding or 15/20 minutes in place of a feeding

• Is your baby STTN or taking a good long stretch at night?  I always found I had the most milk first thing in the morning.  I would wake up ~2 hours before baby would wake up, and pump.  In the early months, I would stop after 8 oz (~4 oz each side, although one side was usually much more efficient), go back to sleep, and then still have enough to feed baby once he woke up.  Pumping at night always got me the least amount of milk, but I know some moms pump religiously at night just before they go to bed, figuring that every ounce counts.

Never got much at all when I pumped after a feeding, and there's really no time to pump between feedings during the day as you want to be sure to still have enough when the next feeding rolls around.

• Loading the player...
  • 1) I pump once a day at night between 8-9pm.

2) I get 3-4oz on the left and 5-6oz on the right.

3) I pump for 10 minutes.

:-)