Pregnant after 35

work dilemma

So, I was reading the earlier post about last day of work, and started thinking (well, been thinking a lot about it) about my work scenario.  I am a teacher.  I am due Sept. 17.  School starts right after labor day (not mine, the actual Labor Day!)  I'm relieved to (basically) not have to work the last 3 months of my pregnancy, however...Maybe I will need to/should work the first week of school or so, or at least plan on it then see what happens. 

Then there's the issue of planning for a sub for those 2-3 months...will be pretty hard to get anyone to commit, since they will be trying to get a full time job until the last minute (which may not be an issue, which could present another issue!)  If the RIF's happen this spring, as they are expected to, some of the laid off teachers who don't get hired back, may be first in line for my long term sub job.  So then again, won't get to pick my sub.

It hurts my head just thinking about this! I am a little anal when it comes to my class and it's going to be hard enough giving them up for a couple of months.  I guess I just need to relax and let the chips fall where they may. I'm not very good at that!

Re: work dilemma

• Well, relaxing is always a good idea. I'm getting materials ready for a sub right now and my assistant principal just took a major load off my back by telling me that I don't have to plan any lessons but that my level leaders (teach two levels) would do it.  I still made an outline of what's going to happen so the sub won't be completely lost though.  Hopefully, the same will happen for you so you won't have to worry about it as much.  You never know what might happen between now and then.  If you express that you need help or guidance about what to do, someone might help you.  Not only that, sometimes things just work out.  It's way too early for you to worry right now. Just enjoy your pregnancy!  Wink
    ~ Married 14 years and counting ~