Baby Showers

Whether or not to invite work friends...

My family is throwing me a baby shower and I am wondering if I should invite the people at my work.  I am a Graduate Assistant at a small college and am close with most of the staff and faculty in my office.  There are a couple I don't work with that closely and would feel odd inviting them, but also would feel weired excluding them.  I am also unsure whether the office will plan to throw me a separate, small shower.  If they did, it would probably be at the end of the semester, but my shower is scheduled for early June, so it would be too late to send out invites to that shower.  I don't want to assume anything and am just not sure how to proceed.  Any suggestions?

Re: Whether or not to invite work friends...

• What do you mean by close with?  If you don't socially interact with them outside of work, I wouldn't invite them to a not-at-work shower.  Generally, I'd only invite those you do socialize without outside of work, unless it literally only leaves 1-2 people 'out' of a large group (I'd invite those along).  You could also verbally invite your close friends there before handing them a formal invite, they may mention they are planning an office one and, if they do, you can ask if they'd still like to come to other.

• At this point you should wait.  Its far too early to be worrying about it. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • I am leaning towards not inviting them. I like your advice, I don't really socialize with them outside of work.  What threw me off is that they are all really excited for me and always asking how I am doing.  It is the Education Dept, so they are all really into children to begin with. Thanks!