2nd Trimester

kids making fun of names

I'm just wondering what you all think. A PP got me thinking (Cora the Whore-a)....

I am a teacher and have worked with lots and lots of kids. I don't know if it is the area where I live or what, but I have NEVER heard of a students name being picked on. I am thinking that since there are so many unique names around that maybe they are just common now?

I am sure to some extent name calling/being made fun of still happens, but I have never witnessed it (other than the occasional rhyme). My DH grew up with the nn Gerbil since we could never say his real name as little kids, but it wasn't to make fun of him.

What are your experiences? 

EDIT: I guess I am wondering if it is just in our heads that kids will be made fun of because it happened more frequently when we were kids?? 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: kids making fun of names

• I totally agree with you- I'm a teacher as well and I've never heard other kids making fun of names. 
  • I think that maybe these kids aren't doing it in front of you. It still happens... it will always happen.
  • Loading the player...
  • imagedori1678:
    I think that maybe these kids aren't doing it in front of you. It still happens... it will always happen.

This.  Why would kids make fun of other kids in front of a teacher?  They wait until teachers aren't around.

DD1 born 5/24/10.

Missed M/C at 14 wks Feb 2012.

DD2 born 5/14/13.

Missed M/C at 9 wks July 2015.

Expecting someone new 4/17/17.
  • I dont know but I love the name Cora. :) 
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • I think maybe as teachers they dont do it in front of you but I know for a fact kids make fun, my maiden name was Tyson- like Mike (haha) and my DH's name is Ralph--make your own joke! So we both know things about getting made fun of..but guess what we are fine and kids grow out of it so I wont be too worried!