Working Moms

Phrases my interviewer said yesterday when interviewing me:

"We're a workaholic culture here.  It's not uncommon to get emails from your boss that you need to answer at 11pm on a Sunday." Indifferent

After her asking me and me answering what I do in my spare time, my boss to be says: "I can't even think about what I do in my spare time since all I do is work now."  Indifferent

The position was for a Director of New Products at an education company and I'm currently a Product Manager for an online company.  While I'd love to "move up" at a new company, the pay would be barely $5k more according to the impression I got from her and I would need to be a workaholic.  Ummm, no thanks, I'll just hope I get the 10% raise here that I asked for in July and was told may happen in February instead.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Phrases my interviewer said yesterday when interviewing me:

• $5K is not worth giving up your life!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I would run away! If that is what they are TELLING you I'm sure it's actually worse. Wow.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Well, at least she's making it clear what her expectations are for the job.  She could have lied and said it was a place with work/life balance and then the first week on the job you'd find out the truth. It's nice to move up, but you have to weigh all the costs, not just salary.  Hopefully you'll get that raise!

• Hey, at least they were honest but I would RUN as far away as possible!
  • imagejc&cat:
    I would run away! If that is what they are TELLING you I'm sure it's actually worse. Wow.

This is exactly what I thought!  It has to actually be worse.  And I ran, I ran so far away...Stick out tongue 

This "Stanford MBA" woman surely didn't know how to interview either.  Ugh.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker