Attachment Parenting
Options

No Cry Sleep Solution- Newborn bedtime routine?

Hello, this is my first time posting to this board but I have found this board very helpful in my first few weeks of motherhood.  I am looking for some insight and hoping you can help.

We are lucky to have a very good sleeper. She regularly nurses at 10, 12, 4 or 5 & 7.  We co-sleep and bed share after her middle of the night feeding.  I thought that since we were on the right track with sleeping we could start using some of the tips from NCSS to help with her bedtime routine as we were dealing with some evening fussing and she has STTN and know that I know she can, I wouldn't mind if she did occasionally :) 

My question is do babies this young (7 weeks) need a bed time?  We were keeping her downstairs with us while we watched tv, etc, letting her sleep when she wanted until 12 when we go to bed.  Now I have been trying to start a real routine and despite my efforts seems to be going down for 11:00.  I start at 8:00.  The main difference is that now I spend it upstairs by myself insted of in the living room with company. I follow all her cues and she does seem to be exhausted.

So APers, what is a good evening routine/bed time for 4th trimesters?

Thanks! 

Re: No Cry Sleep Solution- Newborn bedtime routine?

• Options
    IMO they don't need a bedtime routine at that age.  We kept dd with us while we watched tv in the evening.  We didn't start a bedtime routine until around 16 weeks.  That was out of necessity to get her prepared for both DH and I being back at work a month later. 
  • Options
    Honestly, I think she's too young for a routine until she hits the four month mark.  Right now she's going off the pattern that works for her and she'll adjust when she's ready.  I know it may not be what you want right now, but it's only for a short time and then you can try getting a routine.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options