Adoption

Intro - Starting the fost/adopt process

I'm new to this adoption board, but I have been on the trouble TTC board for the last year.  We have finally decided to give up on a biological child and have moved onto adoption.  We have our orientation meeting in two weeks with the county but I have a few questions for those of you who are in or have gone through the process.

We cannot afford to go through an agency as we've depleted our funds TTC, so we are going the fost/adopt route.

My husband and I both work full time, and do not want to give up our careers to have a family, but we will take six-weeks family leave after the placement.  I have found very little information regarding fost/adopt in our county (Placer County, CA), but have heard that our county will not place an infant in a household where both parents work outside the home.  Has anyone else run into this issue?

Also, if you have gone through the fost/adopt process, did you have to take in foster children or were you able to wait for a placement that would most likely be a permanent placement?

I will ask these questions at the orientation, but it's two weeks away, and I would love some information about your experiences before I go to the meeting.

Thanks so much!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Intro - Starting the fost/adopt process

• I don't really have much info as we are just starting out in the process also, but I wanted to say hello and welcome to the board.  I am glad that you are here and Good luck to you!
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Thanks for the detailed information, it's just so frustrating, scary, you name it. Bottom line is we want a family, so hopefully as we start the process, and jump through all the hoops, we'll be making progress towards that goal.  Whether it's fost/adopt, or somehow finding a way to come up with the money to go through an agency, I have faith that eventually, it will happen for us.