Blended Families

CS question

Right now, DH pays weekly CS. BM uses it to pay her rent (which is fine with us, since her living conditions before she did literally made SS sick). 

We currently live 1200 miles away (we're in VA, they are in AR) and planning on moving to AR shortly after LO is born, and BM has already said that when we do, she is on board for filing for joint physical custody.

If you have joint custody, do you pay/receive CS? We make way more than BM, so obviously affording it is not an issue, nor do I begrudge SS the money, I am really just curious. I am new to all this, and DH seems to think we won't be required to pay it anymore. 

I'm thinking it still will depend on what the judge awards BM, with the CO and whatnot.  

Any ideas? 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: CS question

• Everybody will give widely varying answers because child support laws vary by state.

What I have been able to figure out for Arkansas though is that it appears that child support is based solely on the NCP's income and number of children.  If DH is the NCP, he continues to pay child support.  I don't see any variance for time allotments or anything else.  It looks like AR is possibly a "screw the dad" state but since I'm not from there and only looked at a couple calculators and the guildelines very, very, very briefly I could very well be wrong.  You should ask an attorney who practices in AR.

And also, CS can be modified if both parties consent so if you're spending more time, maybe she's willing to reduce CS.  But the consideration, if you're able to afford it, is it worth it if it's going to mean her standard of living is reduced, even if you're paying for BM's standard of living to increase?

(A BM who reduced and wrote off CS because she could afford to and BF couldn't comfortably pay.)

Photobucket
  • BM will NOT consider agreeing to lesser CS. I know her opinion on it, and I know it won't change.