Working Moms

Teachers who took minimal time (6 weeks) off....

I'm really starting to freak out about making it through the day when I go back to work.  I'm due in about 2 weeks, and I'm only taking the 6 paid weeks off for mat leave (finances don't allow me to take more as unpaid). 

There's a few things going on:  1, I'm not sure if I'm physically going to be able to do it with the lack of sleep I'm expecting to have (I travel room to room, teach 9 classes a day, don't sit down at all until lunch or prep); 2, still be able to BF (I'll only be able to pump at best once a day, not sure if I can stockpil enough either before I go back or keep up on weekends, etc.);  3, if I'll mentally be able to do it (LO will be at a daycare).

Words of wisdom, advice, sympathy?  I've been bawling my eyes out the past due days just thinking about this part.

Re: Teachers who took minimal time (6 weeks) off....

•   I'm not a teacher, but I'm a nurse, so I have the same kind of concerns- never getting to sit, no privacy or time to pump, etc.  My job only gives 6 weeks unpaid, and I'm freaking out because it's such a physical job that I don't think I'll make it!  I feel your pain. 
  • dpdwdpdw member

I'm not a teacher either, but with DS I went back to work at 8 weeks, not exactly "minimal," but still less than lots of women.  I think I would have been fine going back at 6 weeks. 

By that point I was fully healed from my c-section and DS was sleeping well.  I nursed him around 11 pm & then at 4 or 5 am -- depending on the timining of the 2nd feeding I either went back to bed for 1-2 hours or got to "sleep in" for 1-2 hours.  It wasn't that bad & I wasn't all that sleepy at work -- and I read contracts all day, so it could easily put you to sleep.