Austin Babies

Should a 9 month old be feeding themself?

I'm not a parent yet, so I really don't know, but a friend of mine, her DS and I met for lunch this past week and I noticed that she chopped and mashed some of her food (mashed potatoes, chicken fried steak, macaroni and cheese) from her plate, and put it on a small saucer for DS and proceeded to let him feed himself with a [adult sized] spoon.

I'm very observant these days when it comes to mommies with there little ones- just because I have no experience with babies at all (hence my participation on this board). ?I do, however question some things I see- this being one of them. ?I thought he was too young to feed himself, and was just "playing" with the food and throwing it all over the floor/table instead of eating it. When I questioned her about it she said, "He has to learn to be independent". ?What are your thoughs on this? ??

Re: Should a 9 month old be feeding themself?

• This isn't abnormal my daughter is 10 months and has been feeding herself from about 7-8 months. I take food that is appropriate from my plate and let her feed herself when we are at restaurants. When she was first learning to feed herself she was also learning very important things- hand-eye coordination and texture. Playing with food isn't a bad thing it is actually teaching the child these lessons and independence is one of the lessons as well. I think if your friend feels her child is ready for this stage then he probably is.
  • I think babies should start feeding themselves as soon as they can.  Layna is 6 months, and today I put a big glob of oatmeal on her tray and just let her go.  It was all over the place...more got in her hair than in her mouth.  But you have to start somewhere :)
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...