Adoption
Options

Just beginning and need help

My dream has always been to adopt. ?This is something that I need to do to build my family. ?I was fortunate enough to marry a man that shares this dream and we have a gorgeous bio daughter and hope to have one additional child but are also ready to start the adoption route in the not too distant future knowing that it will take some time.

I need some insight from you all. ?We are not seeking to adopt a baby; we would prefer a child that is 4+ years old. Aside from the foster care system is there another avenue to find children to adopt that aren't babies? We are open to any race of child and would consider a child with special needs as well. ?Sorry if these are dumb questions but I am just beginning this process and am not familiar with all the lingo.

TIA!?

Re: Just beginning and need help

• Options

Welcome to the Board. I would check out the book "Adoption for Dummies" It is a great starting point on learning about Adoption.

Amie 

• Options

Hi, and welcome!  (Please excuse the terse numbered format; I wanted to get that all out there quick before I forgot anything.)

1.  If you are open to international adoption, there are many "older children" who need families.

2.  One thing you may want to consider:  some agencies/adoption professionals believe it is best to have children enter the family in birth order (meaning the newest child to the family is also the youngest).  This generally tends to lead to better adjustment among family members.

3.  Similarly, if you are adopting an "older child," there is a chance that the child might have been the victim of abuse.  It is not uncommon for abused children to act those behaviors our on younger children, so there is a possibility that adopting out of age-order could incorporate increased risk to the children already in your family.