High-Risk Pregnancy

Questioning the safety of the glucose test...

Quick question for you GD girls: ?Prior to pregnancy, I would have issues with my blood sugar being too low. ?Being a nurse, I though it would be a good idea to get a glucose monitor and test to see when I get that feeling if my blood sugar is low. ?I only checked a few times, and often it was a bit low. ?Once I would eat, things would be fine. ?Fast forward to a pregnant me: ?Last week I started feeling "not good" and thought my sugar might be low. ?I tested and it was 441. ?Yes, 441. ?I called the doctor, they brought me in, and found my urine to be negative. ?He didn't think that it was possible for me to be that high. ?Since then, I have tested regularly and am always high (usually between 150-200). ?They want me to skip the one-hour and go straight to the 3 hour glucose test this week. ?My question is, since I already know I am having issues with GD, is is safe for me to consume 100g of sugar in 5 mins when even eating a lean piece of meat sends my glucose up? ?I just can't see how putting that kind of stress on my body can be good for me and baby. ?I have already determined that I am having issues, so I am not sure why they are putting me through this test. ?Any thoughts? ?Thanks so much!
BFP #1 - Chemical Pregnancy ----BFP#2 - DD born at 32 weeks-----BFP #3 Spontaneous Identical Twin Boys lost due to Missed M/C - on 7/1/11----BFP #4 Baby girl lost due to Trisomy 22 on 1/6/12 PGAL and PAL Always Welcome! Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Questioning the safety of the glucose test...

• I would think that a doctor would not put you on medication without an official diagnosis... which would mean taking a GTT test.

And since you're usually between 150-200, I would say you definitely need to be on medication.

I've always been told that one high number won't put you or baby in danger, it's being consistently high that is more dangerous.