Cincinnati Babies
Options

college reunion - Would you be mad?

My five-year college reunion is this summer.  I can't decide if their plans for families are out of line or if I'm just crazy, though.  I need some perspective here.

The university runs the reunions and invites all graduates celebrating another five-year increment since graduation.  So, DH and I graduated in 2004 but there will also be graduates from 1999, 1994, etc.  The university's official reunion website explains that while each class is assigned to a specific dorm, anyone with children will be relegated to the un-air conditioned "family dorm" on the other side of the lake, along with all the families from all the other classes.  Now, this is a decent sized lake with a muddy path around it to this dorm.  They also mention this dorm will fill up very, very quickly.  Not cool.

So, today I get the official pamplet from my class leaders in the mail.  Among other things, on the opening page it says, "For those of you who have kids, you can bring them and enroll them in the children's program for the weekend.  They'll be out of your hair for you to relax, and you can get them excited about doing well in school and studying hard for their SATs..."  Maybe the class leaders are just trying to be cute and funny, but I'm not looking to get my child "out of my hair" for the weekend and I kind of took offense to the whole paragraph.  Plus, this is our five-year reunion and I'm pretty sure there weren't any non-traditional students in our class, so the vast majority of these kids are four at the oldest--not exactly time to study for the SATs.

I can't decide if the university really doesn't want families to come so they purposely make it inconvenient, or if I'm just ticked about the dorm situation and looking for fault with anything now.

And I didn't expect that to end up so long!

Re: college reunion - Would you be mad?

• Options