April 2019 Moms

Cousin’s baby has bacterial meningitis.

kaitykinskaitykins member
edited September 2018 in April 2019 Moms
Baby K. He is pulling out of the woods with bacterial
meningitis. He is still in a lot of pain and vomiting every morning. He is only 9m old. Today they found out he lost his hearing  due to complications. They are still not sure of other complications. 

Anyway, wondering if anyone else has a child with hearing loss or knows someone close to them. I want to be as supportive as possible with my family (although they live across the country) and was wondering about resources. I guess I could go ask in the special needs message board too. Just feeling sad for all struggles this cold will
have and needed to put it out there somewhere. Prayers appreciated. 

Re: Cousin’s baby has bacterial meningitis.

• My degree is in Deaf Ed, and I taught Deaf kids for 8 years. What state do they live in? Feel free to send me a message if want.
  • My degree is in Deaf Ed, and I taught Deaf kids for 8 years. What state do they live in? Feel free to send me a message if want.
    I messaged you. 

I’ve studied ASL, CUED Speech and Deaf culture (my degree is in special
    Education). 

Its just so shocking to nearly lose him and then have him lose his hearing. Their family is stuggling financially and have had a lot of loss recently.

They have 2 girls,  lost twin girls a few years ago right after birth and now their rainbow baby boy is fighting to live. :/ 
  • Loading the player...
  • Praying for that sweet boy and your family. My kids have a genetic vision impairment. So I know there are a lot of resources for them and I’d assume there are also some for hearing impairments. Check with your states Early Intervention (it’s called EarlyOn I’m Michigan).