May 2018 Moms

How do we make preparing for babies fun for husbands?

We are due May 7 with twins ( :D:D ) and we are soooo excited!

My husband is the creative type and I am a Project Manager.  My life is full of spreadsheets, plans and charts.  We are trying to combine our styles: my need to schedule dates for creating the registry, interviewing pediatricians, etc. and his need to not feel overwhelmed. 

I thought maybe you all might have some ideas on how to make the whole process "fun" so that he doesn't feel overwhelmed with everything that must be done, but rather enjoy himself?  

I saw a silly Hallmark movie with a fun, interactive refrigerator calendar where you could put goofy magnets on every time you accomplished something.  I may do something like that?  

Re: How do we make preparing for babies fun for husbands?

• Loading the player...
  • @ivyvines6 I so feel you! 

I am against the "gold star" route with adults. I am a laid back and natural type B and I find it condescending for someone to "reward" me for following their type A schedule/list. 

Of course stuff needs to get done. Reality is it is not all fun! So, he has to suck it up when you give him things to do. Suggestion: If you are looking forward to something and he sees it as torture and you do not want him sucking the fun out of your life... go with a friend or on your own.

I did my first pregnancy on my own (single mom) and the second time around I did not involve DH in everything either. I always told him what was going on and if he wasn't into it and didn't NEED to be there I let it be. Not a big deal. You would be surprised how much they choose to be involved if there is less "pressure".

I left my DH back from one trip to the maternity store and all of a sudden he wanted to go to almost everything...
    BabyFetus Ticker
  • nhardler said:
    We are due May 7 with twins ( :D:D ) and we are soooo excited!