July 2017 Moms
Options

Beauty Products

theweeveetheweevee member
edited October 2016 in July 2017 Moms
For a makeup and skincare junkie like me, this first pregnancy is mighty confusing!  Has anyone found a good source (whether online or in a book) that lists all of the chemical names for what we are supposed to avoid?  I feel like I'm studying for a chemistry exam and am getting confused by the methyl this and "avoid Vitamin A", where Vitamin A has many, many name variants.  Then add in the conflicting lists and oof.  Petroleum, silicone, and paraben oh my!  

Alternatively, if any of you has already figured this out and want to share what you're using, maybe I'll just copy your routine.  

Re: Beauty Products

• Options
    Following this, I should probably stop using my face wash O_o I didn't even think of that....
  • Options
    I didn't even know this was a thing!! 

I wear bare minerals - not planning on changing (unless I start breaking out and need something more heavy duty!)
    Babysizer Cravings Pregnancy Tracker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    AdaByronAdaByron member
    edited October 2016
    I just try to use the most gentle cleansers possible. Most nights I clean my face with Cetaphil. And I only use a stronger cleanser if I'm really feeling like I need it. I think this is one of those things where moderation is key. One drop of salicylic acid isn't going to go straight to your uterus. But I would maybe cut back if I was using it twice a day before. 

That being said, I tend to have a pretty relaxed attitude with most pregnancy restrictions. Your comfort level may be different.
  • Options
    Not that Baby Center is super legit but here is a good list of the key ingredients in some skin care to minimize or diminish 

https://www.babycenter.com/0_safe-skin-care-during-pregnancy_1490031.bc
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options