September 2016 Moms

Placenta Encapsulation Anyone???

Hi Ladies,

I was wondering if anyone has ever had their placenta encapsulated before. If so, what was your experience? Anyone else out there thinking about doing it? I know there is no solid scientific studies showing evidence that eating your placenta will benefit you, but I am intrigued. I know someone who tried it with her third pregnancy and said her postpartum was much better when she took her placenta pills. My OB gave me a referral of a midwife that does it, and I am seriously considering it.

Re: Placenta Encapsulation Anyone???

• I haven't done it but I have several friends who swear that it helped with PPD. Can't hurt.
    Married 6/4/11
    Reese born 3/23/13
    Due 9/14/16

BabyFruit Ticker
  • sunshinern96sunshinern96 member
    edited April 2016
    I have not tried it and it's not really my thing but I am a postpartum nurse and I do have patients who save their placentas to take home. I just wanted to say just make sure that when you go to the hospital in labor, you tell the nurses and also doctors (probably multiple times!) that you want them to save the placenta. I have seen people who have a birth plan put that in bold letters across the top of the page, which is helpful too just as a reminder. Otherwise, they may accidentally get rid of it after the birth! At my hospital they put it in a nice tub with a lid and we keep it in the fridge for you until you are discharged. 

ETA- My patients who have done it really swear by it and feel that it does help with healing and postpartum depression, which is awesome.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I'm tempted but I'm pretty sure DH will think I've lost my mind.

BabyFruit Ticker
  • I thought long and hard about doing it last time. There is a lady that lives near me who comes to your house, cooks it and encapsulates it.