September 2016 Moms

ZIKA VIRUS POSITIVE THOUGHTS AND QUESTIONS ABOUT BLOOD CLOTTING

Hello all,

This is my first time writing on here. Quickly please think good thoughts for me. I live and work in Managua, Nicaragua and the first cases of the Zika Virus have been detected as of tonight:-( i love love love my job with the Peace Corps in their training department, love my life here in Nica and am so sad about this horrible epidemic.  Will most likely be stateside soon - i need start looking for a new job.. has anyone looked for a job while pregnant? Man, this is not what I was expecting with my first pregnancy :(

Second Question: Nica doctors are not very aware of some gene mutations that increase the chances of blood clotting, especially when pregnant. They have me on aspirin a day but honestly don't really know anything about what I have. Should I be on Heperin? I have Factor 5 Leiden and Prothrombin. I see a new OBGYN tomorrow that will hopefully have a better idea.

Good night, from under my mosquito net :) I am staying covered, deeted up and doors clothes, AC on all day long. 

Cheers

Re: ZIKA VIRUS POSITIVE THOUGHTS AND QUESTIONS ABOUT BLOOD CLOTTING

• izzetootizzetoot member
    edited January 2016
    I also have Factor5 Prothrombin, so random bc it is such a rare disorder! But this is my 2nd pregnancy and with both I took (am taking) 30mg of Lovenox (enoxoparin) once a day as an injection I give myself in the stomach.  Around 30 weeks I will be switched to Heparin and that is bc lovenox and epidurals do not mix so if you go into early labor or require csection you will be able to get an epi for pain.  I was also induced about 3 weeks early and am closely monitored by my OB, MFM and Hematologist.  I see them almost every 2 weeks for the entire pregnancy.  Taking baby asprin is good! So keep doing that, but once you switch to a blood thinner (lovenox) its unnecessary.