Struggling with calorie intake — The Bump
Babies: 0 - 3 Months

Struggling with calorie intake

I am EBF and have just returned to work and am finding myself utterly exhausted at the end of the day. I know some of it is just my body getting used to working again (I work in retail and am constantly moving) but I think it is also because I don't consume enough calories.

I read somewhere that BF moms need around 2600-2800 calories and I'm nowhere near that! Do any of you have this problem? What are your favorite meals/snacks that are healthy but energizing!

Re: Struggling with calorie intake

• Hello. You definitely need more calories as you burn over 20 per ounce of milk your body is making. That said don't worry about totalling up calories, you have enough on your mind already. Instead just eat to hunger, in other words snack and munch when you feel the need. Nuts, flapjacks, bananas, probiotic yoghurt, Wholemeal muffins, a bowl of cereal if you can squeeze one in at work, are all good energy giving snacks. Rice cakes, Wholemeal bagels (add almond butter to both for a calorie and energy boost) and if you have a juice store close by freshly blended fruit smoothies are also a good idea. The occasional sweet treat won't hurt either just not too many as they will make you crash the other end. And get substantial meals down you when you can. You're working hard and doing really well. Good luck mama!
  • Loading the player...
  • @Merroneymaria thanks! The only reason I'm looking at calories is because ever since the baby was born I haven't had much of an apetite. I always have to remind myself to eat something! And now with me working and starting to work out again I want to make sure I am eating enough to take care of me and baby! Thanks for all your suggestions, I'll have to try some!
    Merroneymaria
  • Loading the player...