Trying to Get Pregnant

PCOS questions

Hi ladies-  So I know I could have put this in the WTO board, but I wanted to reach a few more people who may have experiences or be dealing with this or have more knowledge on it.

1) is PCOS something you can develop over age/time kind of thing or are you born with it and just don't have any real issues with it until you start TTC and that is how you discover you have it?

2) How is the testing done for it?  I'm wondering if I may have it?  I don't know how common it is, but I don't want to rule anything out and with an appt scheduled for additional testing with RE coming up I don't want to miss out on anything here.  Especially since my deductible is met already this year before we see Jan 1.

Thanks in advance!!

Re: PCOS questions

• What symptoms are you having that you are leaning towards PCOS?
    Also, are you overweight?  What does your daily diet consist of?

• *****lurker + signature TW*****

I'm not a PCOS expert, but I can tell you about my experience. The diagnosis is obtain when you have a certain amount of signs. For exemple I have one ovary (the right one) that is polycystic but doctor said I didn't had PCOS because my hormones level were normal, and I was ovulating monthly.
    People often think it's a GYN disease but it's a metabolic/endo disease because it affects more than just the ovaries.
    Your doctor can measure your androgen hormones level, your blood sugar level, LH/FSH ratio, there's also some signs like the growth of hairs on "unusual area" like chin, hands, back, belly etc.

You lose nothing to ask!
    Hope this help
    :)
  • Loading the player...
  • SarafussSarafuss member
    edited December 2015
    1.  I'm not sure what the answer is to this.  But it's something I've always had (I assume).  I've had very irregular periods since I started having them at age 12.  I was told at 15 that I likely had PCOS.