TTC after 35
Options

TTC and the flu shot

i work at a hospital and as October approaches we need to get our flu shot. This is my first year getting it. I O'd over the weekend and am now in my TWW. When I went for the shot one of the questions asked if I am or could be pregnant. I told the nurse we are TTC so I don't know. They told me if I am then I have to wait until after the first trimester.
Anyone else waiting to get the flu shot or doing it anyway during the wait.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: TTC and the flu shot

• Options
    I'm waiting to see how TWW comes out then will decide when to get it. When I was pregnant with my first though, I got my flu shot at my 1st OB visit at 8 weeks so not sure why they told you not until 2nd trimester? New guidelines or general guideline because they want you to talk to your own dr first??
  • Options
    That is strange advice and I wouldn't trust it. Flu shots are safe at any point while TTC or when pregnant. In fact, this is exactly the time when a flu shot would benefit you the most! I also work in a hospital and for what it's worth I got a flu shot last Friday and no one asked if I was pregnant, though technically I probably was because I had a BFP by Monday.
    Me: 40  DH: 43
    Married 5/30/15
    TTC #1 June 2015
    BFP #1 9/28/15, EDD 6/10/16. DS born 5/23/16!
    TTC #2 May 2017
    BFP #2 m/c 11/18/17 5w5d
    BFP #3 12/17/17 EDD 8/25/18. It's a boy!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I got mine recently and they asked the same question.  I said I was TTC, so they said they use a different shot if that's the case.
    TTC#1 since Jan 2015
    BFP 2/19/15  •  MMC found at 9 wks  •  D&E at 11 wks (age 36)
    BFP 8/29/15
      •  CP (age 37)
    BFP 11/18/15  •  DD born at 41 weeks <3(age 37/38)

TTC#2 since May 2017
    BFP 10/18/17  •  MMC found at 8 wks  •  Misoprostal at 10.5 wks (age 39)

BFP 2/16/18
      •  CP (age 39)
    BFP 4/13/18
      •  CP (age 39)