November 2015 Moms
Options

When are you starting your maternity leave?

13»

Re: When are you starting your maternity leave?

• Options
    I'm a pre-k/kindergarten teacher which is physically challenging while pregnant, however what's really the issue is that my husband and I moved out of Manhattan this summer so I am now commuting 1.5 hours each way to work. Because of this my days are really long and tiring and I've now come down with a very bad cold. All in all I am now trying to hold on until the end of October, when I will be 37-38 weeks. I love my job and I don't want to leave early but necessity may drive me to it.
  • Options
    LSRoo said:

LSRoo said:

LSRoo said:

NJ here. If we don't use our 4 weeks before, we lose it. I'm working until 36 weeks

I'm in NJ and so confused to the point it's stressing me out!!!! I want to go out at 36 weeks... If not sooner

What are you confused about?? I get 4 weeks prior to birth (fmla), 6 or 8 weeks after the birth (also fmla- for 12 weeks grand total). Once that is up, I get an additional 12 weeks FLA. (only 6 of those weeks are covered under disability). Hope that helps!!
    is the 4 weeks before different than maternity leave? My company says they expect me to work til the day I deliver, but I want 4 weeks if that's what I'm entitled to. How is FLA different than fmla?

FMLA-- is for YOUR medical condition. In this case, your pregnancy and recovery. (it can also be another family members medical condition).

FLA- bonding time for you and the baby.
    Thanks again. Starting to make a little more sense. I spoke with the nurse today and she said my last day of work would be Friday, October 30th which then the Dr will put me out at 36 weeks.

• Loading the player...
  • Options