Pregnant after a Loss

XP from the Losses Board: Pregnant after loss, with known reason for miscarriages

I'm new to the bump, but really need some people to talk to! 

I got pregnant on my honeymoon, had an early ultrasound at about 7-7.5 weeks, and found it was not viable. I had a D&C the day after Christmas 2014. I had a 5-week miscarriage (chemical pregnancy, and was spotting the whole time) in early August. I swear the month before (early July) I had the same thing, but never did a pregnancy test that month. Anyway, my doc is great and offered to do some blood tests on both my husband and I to see if there were any reasons for it happening. At first my doc suggested I wait a bit to get my tests done, but my husband could get his. Turns out he has an abnormality in his chromosomes (Chromosome 22 ps+ mutation...anyone have any experience with that?) that means the chromosomes don't divide equally and can cause miscarriages. The doc suggested I get my tests done ASAP, and meet with a genetic counselor to discuss our options. 

I went to have my blood taken for my tests on September 2nd, (got the results back since then, I'm fine!). Then last September 3rd I realized I'd had "PMS" for about a week and no period and took a pregnancy test--positive! I'm almost 6 weeks pregnant right now. The doc wants me to wait until about 8 weeks to get an ultrasound so we'll know something for sure, and suggested putting off the genetic counselor until after than when we know more info.

I feel like I'm living in limbo. I can't get excited about the pregnancy, because I know we have a condition that can cause first trimester miscarriages. But I can't grieve because there's a chance everything could be great. This is so hard I can't express it. 

Re: XP from the Losses Board: Pregnant after loss, with known reason for miscarriages