February 2016 Moms

Skull/Nub Theory Guesses?

12w1d - baby boy #3 - or first baby girl?  Any guesses?

Re: Skull/Nub Theory Guesses?

• I don't know but I think it would be a good idea to edit your personal info out of the pic.

I have no idea about the skull thing. I think rather than checking for a nub it actually has something to do with the angle of the line down there... not sure of specifics. With DS, the tech made a 90% guess at 12 weeks, but it was still a guess. With #2 and #3 she wouldn't even venture a guess because I think you have to get just the right angle.

• TopitsTopits member
    edited July 2015
    Baby girl! Nub looks flatter and 3 straight lines. Boys have more of a 30 degree angle I've heard. But I'm no pro, total guess. When do you find out??? I am trying to guess the same thing with my 12 week ultrasound!
  • Loading the player...
  • With the cell-free DNA test - I guess I should find out next week or the beginning of the following week!  I'm so excited!  
  • I think it looks like a boy based on the skull? The back of the heads are a bit flatter on boys... I don't see the nub in the pic at all? 

Spontaneous pregnancy #1
    DD1 July 31, 2011

Trying for #2 since Oct 11
    732973 Clomid Cycles
    2 IUIs 
    3 Fresh IVFs= 1 Ectopic treated with MTX
    Spontaneous pregnancy #2= Ectopic #2= lost left tube
    Spontaneous pregnancy #3= DD2 January 29, 2016
    Spontaneous pregnancy #4= Ectopic #3
    Spontaneous pregnancy #5= Baby #3 is a BOY!!! 

BabyFruit Ticker
  • TopitsTopits member
    @JHSmommy you'll have to post the result!

@potatocastillo I've heard the nub kinda disappears into three straight lines at 12 weeks with a girl. But stays more of a nub, with 3 dots in a triangle with boys. But I have no experience with it, just what I've read. Haven't done research about the skull though!
  • pettycrockerpettycrocker member
    edited July 2015