February 2016 Moms
Options

Anyone w/ high BP or White Coat Syndrome??

I had legit high BP at the end of my 1st pregnancy which I was put on bed rest for the last 2 weeks.  Had no issues at all w/ my 2nd but this time, I panic every time I have my BP taken in the office which makes it high.  I have to lay on my left side, breathe and it comes back down but I'm so nervous and I can't help it.

To make it worse, I know I can't have the water birth in the family beginnings unit at the hospital if I have high BP so that is also on my mind.

My nurse told me to tell the nurse at my check-ups every time that I have white coat syndrome so they can have me relax and lay down.

Anyone else have this issue?   And if you do have high BP, are you on medication....how do you manage it?

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker TickerBabyFruit Ticker

Re: Anyone w/ high BP or White Coat Syndrome??

• Options
    I have it and I'm a nurse. It's common. It's also because of the hormones. I am not on medication. I just try to relax and be calm unless I'm upset...then its gonna be high.
  • Options
    I had a couple highs last pregnancy. I always asked them to recheck it in the middle or towards the end of the appt, and it always came down.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    If you didnt have it with your second were you just as nervous? If not, try to do whatever you did then. Worrying about it will only make it go up, obviously, you know this. Try to relax and think happy thoughts before your appt. Good luck!

BabyFetus Ticker
  • Options
    willashbabywillashbaby member
    edited July 2015
    I have them do my BP at the end of the appointment after I have heard/seen baby. By then I'm usually back down to normal. 
  • Options