August 2015 Moms
Options

MIL micromanaging baby photos

I just have to vent. I flew to Michigan for a couple of baby showers this past weekend. My MIL gave me some clothes and a nice blanket she made along with those monthly stickers in the shape of a tie. At the shower she says she is going to "harass" me every month until I send her a picture of her grandson. I just let it go, because it's months away and if she does harass me, I can confront her about it then. THEN when we're talking on the phone a couple days ago she says " I expect you to take a monthly picture of my grandson on the blanket I made with the ties I gave you." And I was basically speechless until I said that "yea I'd planned on taking a photo of him every month", not committing to taking the photos her way.

Am I crazy hormonal or is my MIL insane. I don't need her to art direct photos of my child. I'm a very good photographer and I plan to make him a blanket of my own. If anything I will take photos where I want with stuff I made him. And I really don't need her "harassing" me to take photos of my newborn from states away. My plan is to wait and see what happens. If she does start to harass me or whatever, then DH or I will have to say something. Thoughts?

Re: MIL micromanaging baby photos

• Options
    She will probably harass you. Mine texts me "pic today?" If I don't send her a picture every. Single. Day. Like HELLO sometimes she doesn't do anything super special to take a picture of... I just let it go because she lives a thousand miles away, and I know it probably sucks to miss out on her growing up. Babies change so much even weekly, so I can empathize with how much they miss.

And I think you'll love to snap pictures monthly anyway, so any excuse is a good excuse ;)
  • Loading the player...
  • Options