July 2015 Moms

Internal check for position of baby

Hi all,

FTM here and I had an ultrasound at 32 weeks to check the location of placenta (was low during 20 week ultrasound) but the doc said all is good and she was head down. Granted I'm no expert, but I have never been convinced she is was head down. I have been carrying very low from the start but have 2 definite lumps parallel to each other and I feel like she is sideways. At my appointment today (34 weeks) my doc tried to feel for her position and is very confused by the 2 lumps but still thinks she is head down...so she said she is going to do an internal check next time.

Has Anyone ever had an internal check? What is it like? Painful? I'm in visioning her just sticking her whole hand up there...

Re: Internal check for position of baby

• I have not had an internal check. However you might want to Google belly mapping. The one lump is the head and the other lump is more than likely the baby's bottom
  • mnj05mnj05 member
    Internal checks for me aren't painful, just uncomfortable at times. It's no worse than a pap in my opinion.

imagePhotobucket

TTC #1 since 3/2011
    DX: anovulatory and severe MFI
    DH is a testicular cancer survivor
    IVF#1 w/ICSI lupron, gonal f, ovidrel
    ER 6/15/12 6R 6M 6F! ET 6/20/12
    Beta #1: 154 Beta #2: 509 Beta #3: 7326
    Baby Boy born 3/1/2013
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

TTC#2: 6/2014 all testing came back normal

IVF#2 (#1 for LO#2) 9/2014 - 17R 10M 10F 4 blasts frozen on day 6.

FET #1 10/15/14 - Beta #1: 216  Beta #2: 823

Baby Boy born 7/10/2015

• Loading the player...
  • ^ What she said... Just curious if your baby could be in a posterior position (with back to your back). I feel two lumps on the top and thought she was still transverse, which is how she was much of my pregnancy. When my midwife checked her position she said baby was head down and posterior, so I guess I'm feeling legs or knees.