October 2015 Moms

Quit my over stressful job (:

I work as a line cook at applebees, a very busy applebees. The management were assholes, and we were always busy. The shifts kept getting longer, we didn't get breaks. I would be there 8 to 9 hours plus and they would tell me I can't take a 15 min break to eat real quick knowing I'm pregnant and haven't eaten all day. My boyfriend who also works there was always telling me since I got pregnant I can quit any time and it'll be okay so I final did yesterday and it was just so much stress off my back. Anyone else have shitty jobs or quit since they got pregnant?

Re: Quit my over stressful job (:

• My job is rediculously stressful! I think it's part of the reason it took me two years to conceive. Now that I'm pregnant feel trapped there because I need to work and don't think I'll be able to get a job only to work there 6 months.
  • You don't have to tell the new place you're pregnant til it's obvious though!
  • Loading the player...
  • I quit my job before I found out I was pregnant...it was horrendous. I was pretty much bullied out. I'm on sick with the company..still classed as employed...and with the list of claims I've got against them..it think they'll be paying me a nice sum to leave quietly or hello tribunal! I've not told them im pregnant...none of their business. I'm in the UK and I think your employer has to know by 26 weeks (I think) this is something to do with making sure you get maternity pay. As for your no breaks it's illegal...even though you no longer work there I'd think about a constructive unfair dismissal claim..based on you were left with no choice but to leave due to the amount of stress...and it shouldn't have to take you telling them you're pregnant to give you a break. Something to think about. I wouldn't let them get away with it.