March 2015 Moms

Writing My Maternity Leave Plan-Please Help!

Hello,
I wrote here seeking advice back in August, and everyone was so helpful and supportive, so here goes...
I am due on March 27th and work for a very small start-up company (15 employees) in a leadership position, and I am the first employee to become pregnant. Our office has no official policy on maternity leave, but we do not qualify for FMLA here, as we are too small. Additionally, I have been with the company since August-they only opened in February. I have become an invaluable part of the team, and much of my job can be done remotely. I report directly to our CEO, and she told me to come up with a fair plan of action and present it to her for review and subsequent discussion. As a NJ resident, I believe I can take 4 weeks partially paid prior to my due date off and 6 weeks after, if I deliver vaginally through short-term disability. Benefits are of no concern to me, as I'm covered on my husband's plan. Also, if this is of any matter, I earn a modest salary-it is a a start-up, and my work environment is very laid back and supportive of my pregnancy. Ideally, I would like more time off (paid if possible) and be able to come back part-time with the flexibility to work at home as needed. I don't have a clue how to write this up or what is even fair. There is no HR department to discuss matters with. Thank you all in advance for all of your help!!!

Re: Writing My Maternity Leave Plan-Please Help!