Breastfeeding

does this sound like thrush?

LO is a week old. Both nipple cracked at the hospital due to a shallow latch. We improved the latch and I have been using APNO to heal the cracks (but it is is from my first LO and is over a year old -- OBs office was closed when I tried to call the day before Christmas). Its been a few days but I'm guessing it is taking so long to heal because the ointment is so old.

Anyway, yesterday and today I have a dull pain deep in both breasts that goes away while I am nursing and then comes back when I start to fill up again. LO doesn't have any symptoms and my nipples, while cracked don't show any other symptoms.

Anyone have any thoughts on what this could be? I had a CS so I'm wondering if I got thrush from the antibiotics I was given after surgery.
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: does this sound like thrush?

• It doesn't sound like thrush to me, but I'm not an expert. When I had thrush it started in the nipples and felt like sharp glass-like pain. Since yours is more deep it may be just your body adjusting to your milk coming in.

**DD1 - 7/9/98**

**DS - 11/9/00**

**DD2 - 4/30/13**

• Thanks ladies. The initial latch does hurt but it doesn't feel like glass. I'm only a week in so I'm sure that is why the initial latch hurts. I don't remember these pains from my first. I will keep an eye on it.
  • Loading the player...
  • On closer inspection of LOs mouth, the back of his upper gums are white. Not cottage cheese like, just white. I cant get my finger back there to see if it wipes off as he sucks on my finger as soon as I stick it in there. Also, the pain in my breasts comes and goes. Not sure if thrush would be constant or not?