Toddlers: 24 Months+

2 year old nighttime milk addict

Hi everyone- this is my first time posting on this board, but I'm really hoping you all can help. I have a 2 year old daughter (2 years, 5 months) with awful sleep issues. She was always such a great sleeper from the time she was 6 weeks until she was about 15 months. After that things went downhill and she would wake up wanting milk in her bottle, which would put her right back down. She is my firstborn and I NOW know I made a lot of mistakes (like letting her become dependent on milk to fall asleep. Live and learn I guess). We had a really hard time getting her off the bottle at night. She wouldn't take anything but a warm bottle of milk before bed. When she turned 2 her doctor told us she had to get off the bottle immediately so we basically went cold turkey and told her we gave all her bottles away. It took her about a month, if not more, to forget about them. It was not an easy transition. However, the only way we could get her to go to sleep was by giving her a sippy cup. I know this is just as bad and all she did was replace a bottle for a cup, but we would get in stand offs with her for hours. She would stay up til midnight, refusing to go to sleep and usually getting so worked up that she'd throw up. For a while, she would fall asleep with her sippy cup and my husband and I thought gradually we'd just replace the milk with water until she fell asleep with all water. Five months later and we're still fighting with her. I wouldn't be AS concerned about all of this if she would sleep through the night. For the past maybe 6 weeks, she's waking up at least 2 times a night wanting milk. I think what's happening is, she is potty trained during the day, so when she goes to the bathroom at night it wakes her up. It's a viscous cycle: Needs a full cup of milk before bed> milk makes her pee> pee wakes her up> needs milk to fall asleep. I'm going out of my mind because my husband and I both work full time and I'm