June 2015 Moms

I have to wait till Im 18 weeks for an US...say what???

So I went for my first prenatal visit today. I am currently a full time nursing student so therefore I have no insurance at the moment. I got referred to my local health center. My doctor at the health center told me that because I have no high risk indicators they're going to wait until I'm 18 weeks to an ultrasound. I am currently 6w6days and can not stand the thought of waiting that long! ALL of my preggo friends and mommy friends had an ultrasound to verify pregnancy at around 7-10 weeks. Anyone else going through the same issue or have any advice on how I can get an US done? I had a miscarriage at around 7 weeks three years ago. I'm so terrified I am going to have one again. I thought hearing the hear beat today would give me some relief :(((((

Re: I have to wait till Im 18 weeks for an US...say what???

• I know that my obgyn told me that if I wasn't getting genetic testing done, my first official ultrasound would be at 16 weeks, WITH great insurance! At a fancy shmancy doctors office! She did an "unofficial" ultrasound with an old machine just so we could see the flicker and she wanted to make sure it was in the right place bc of some sharp pains. But I was like, even if I didn't want the genetic testing, I would almost feel pushed into it just to get the ultrasound. It felt ridiculous. But it's really normal I guess if you don't have any risk factors.
  • Yes bintmejnuna I am relieved that there are not high risk factors. I just wish I could hear my little peanuts heartbeat so I could stop being so stressed. They're going to check the heartbeat with the doppler on my next visit. It's not until Nov 26 though :(
  • Loading the player...