September 2014 Moms
Options

How old is too old for tantrums?

My almost five year old is really well-behaved, most of the time. He does what he's told, he remembers the rules. He gets whiny here or there, but if it's headed off quickly, he knocks it off.

I've been working on my own patience with him for a few months now - the pregnancy had me easily agitated and exhausted. But, we've been doing better.

Today, I took him to the park. He was playing with some kids and pushed another little boy going up the stairs - not cool. I told him to apologize and then sit on a bench for a couple of minutes until he remembered that pushing isn't okay. He's not a violent kid, so that surprised me, but what surprised me more was that when I sent him to the bench he started to have a meltdown. This is seriously uncommon for him, we see MAYBE one a week, and it's usually accompanied with exhaustion or needing to eat. And he usually pulls it together really quickly, after being warned once or twice, he's calm. Today, I don't know what happened, but I decided to just remove him completely. We left the park and he went to his room when we got home.

When asked, he can tell you that throwing fits doesn't get him his way and only puts him in more trouble. But if they know that, why do they still try it?

I kept my cool, but my preggo hormones were screaming right back at him in my head. Is 5 too old for tantrums?

Re: How old is too old for tantrums?

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    My niece is the same age, and her brother is 1 and she still occasionally has tantrums, mostly because she's jealous of the baby.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    BFP: 09/13/13  ---  MMC: 10/25/13
    BFP: 12/25/13  ---  DD: 09/10/14
    BFP: 03/16/15  ---  EDD: 11/30/15

• Options