April 2015 Moms
Options

RN 12 hour shift anticipating morning sickness !!

Hi! This is my 2nd pregnancy first baby hopefully. I am 5 weeks 2 days and from what I hear the morning sickness is coming soon!! I work 12 hour shifts and barely get a break for lunch/dinner... And I always am dealing with certain... smells... I was wondering if anyone else was dealing with a similar situation you do not have to be an RN to appreciate this situation or help me out. Thanks !!!! :-S

Re: RN 12 hour shift anticipating morning sickness !!

• Options
    I'm a manager at a restaurant and I barely make it through my shorter 9 hour shifts so I don't know I'm going to manage 11 tonight without falling asleep! My nose has been smelling everything though so being in a kitchen all day isn't helping with the nausea!
  • Options
    I start teaching in about a week and a half. I don't know what I am going to do when I have a classroom full of kids and it comes on. I don't want to tell any co-workers I am pregnant until I have to. Maybe I will have to confide in the teacher whose room is next to mine so she could come stand watch from the door.
    Baby #1: EDD:  5/31/08   DD born sleeping due to severe preeclampsia at 22 weeks 1/26/08
    Baby #2: EDD:  4/28/09   DS#1
    Baby #3: EDD:  5/26/11   DS#2
    Baby #4  EDD:  4/1/2015 

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    I work in a hospital too as an MRI Tech, long shifts too. I totally feel you on the "smells" thing..with my first DS I worked up until 5 days before he was born. You can do it!!
  • Options
    I'm a lvn and 5 weeks I literally deep breathe before going in and try to get on and out. I always carry saltines, ginger ale andthings I can keep with me these 12 hr shifts are no joke being pregnant, my struggle is staying awake after 4 am and all the smells. My sense of smell unfortunately lasts my whole pregnancies so it's gonna be a loooooong 9 months ! Good luck ps Vicks usually helps a bit
  • Options