1st Trimester

What to say if people ask you if you are prego

And you don't want them to know yet....
I am a teacher and 8 weeks prego. This is my husband and I's first child. I am really trying to keep the pregnancy a secret though until we are further along. I had to tell my Principal early though bc I was getting sick and had to leave my classroom to go to the bathroom during state testing exams. A week later I keep getting random teachers coming up to me and saying "Congratulations!" in front of others I definitely don't want to know!!! When they see my face go from surprise to horror/shock they exclaim. "You are pregnant right?" I haven't exactly been handling it well bc it's none of their business to be asking me and I was not expecting anyone to find out. So what should I say if any more nosey people come up and ask?
(I have no clue where the rumors started)

Re: What to say if people ask you if you are prego

• Meery82Meery82 member
    Say no.
    BabyFruit Ticker Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
  • Give them a flat and emotionless thanks and change the subject..
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I would tell them you are uncomfortable talking about it at this point.  They could benefit from a lesson in tact and boundaries. 
  • Read247Read247 member
    Neither confirm or deny. Say: "that's rude. Are you saying I look fat?" If they press the issue say: "if I had any news to share I would announce it when I'm ready, but thanks for asking."
    imageBabyFruit Ticker image
  • I'd say that I'm not pregnant. Imagine how they will feel when they find out that you actually are and you weren't comfortable sharing. I think that's a lesson needed to be learned. At our workplace, they did HR training on this topic, no one is allowed to ask anyone if they're pregnant or speculate at work. People still speculate, but there hadn't been any face to face confrontations.