Babies: 3 - 6 Months

Giving up BFing before ready

Is anyone else giving up before they are ready? Any advice would be good! LO is 5 mo and was EBF until he was 4mo. I work, and couldn't keep up with him so we intro some formula last month.

I absolutely love BFing, I hate pumping. I'm going to have to stop BFing for various reason:

1. I'm a business owner of a private practice. I'm the only female of child bearing age and I'm not pulling my weight because of the pumping.

2. Pumping is hard to fit into my day.

3. My supply is dwindling despite all of my efforts to enhance it- more milk plus caps, SNS, lots of water, Gatorade , more pumping. I'm so frustrated because one day I will feel like these things are helping, and i get 4-5 oz in 20 min, the next day I'm back to pumping 3oz or less in that time. LO drinks 6oz or sometimes more.

4. We have a vacation coming up away from LO for almost a week. I cannot believe I agreed to this. A long time friend of ours is getting married. I know that being away for that long likely means that he will start rejecting the breast. I also don't want to pump every 3 hours while we are at the beach. Nor do I want to transport the milk back home- or worse, dump it.

So this means that I am reaching the end of breastfeeding. I'm so ready to be done pumping, but I don't feel ready to stop breast feeding. I know there is no going back when I start taking steps to stop, and I'm so nervous about that. I find feeding my LO to be really special and I'm really sad that it's coming to an end. I wish that I could feed him and not pump, but I know with my supply issues that is not an option.

I guess I just wanted to write my feelings down and see if there is anyone else out there in a similar predicament.

Re: Giving up BFing before ready