Babies on the Brain

How do people afford 2 (or more) kids ?!

2»

Re: How do people afford 2 (or more) kids ?!

• When I was working FT we were still bringing in a decent amount of money. Plus DC was cheap where we lived so we were ahead. So it was never a question of if we could afford 2.

Now due to a job change for DH and what we wanted, I SAH. We would love a third, but unless we have more income and find a way to make it work without daycare expenses, we are being responsible and not "just figuring it out".
    "Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body."
    Goodbye little angel(7/22/2011)....see you in heaven
    Goodbye my second angel (9/18/2011)
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • I think when it comes in the future, that would definitely be something to think about, work shifts.  I am an Occupational Therapist, so HAVE to work day shift.  But the hubby may be flexible.  If we worked it out so that we wouldn't need a baby sitter, that would be great.  And day care scares me.  So many illnesses!

The MIL is a retired teacher. But her health limitations worry me.  She always says "I will watch the babies", but she needs a walker to get out of the house.  Carrying a baby around... and walk.  That TERRIFIES ME! 

Over $1000 a week for child care is absurd!  I couldn't imagine... I don't have kids yet!
  • Loading the player...