May 2014 Moms

CDN Mamas - Sick Leave and EI

We all know Service Canada is ridiculous to get ahold of … so I thought I'd ask here.

For those of you who have taken sick leave or looked into it - do you have to take it right away when receiving medical approval? Or can you delay it until you've worked out notice and decided when the best time to begin the leave? I really want to avoid starting Mat Leave 8 weeks early so I don't reduce the time when LO arrives at the end of Mat Leave. I just want to have all my ducks in a row before I decide to officially leave work early as I am seriously contemplating it.

Thoughts? Thank you :)

Re: CDN Mamas - Sick Leave and EI

• I'm not sure since I've never done it before but I'm sort of trying to figure out something similar. I may be in a bind with the 600 hour requirement if they do not include hours worked before last May 28th. I got well over 600 hours in last school year, when I had anticipated getting pregnant then, and didn't file an EI claim over the summer in the hopes that those hours may be banked. Now I'm wondering if they look only at the past 12 months and ignore everything else.

If I don't get enough supply days in before May, I could go off a few weeks early so that they'd count more of my hours from last year but I don't know if they'd allow leave to start before the actual EDD/delivery date.

Sorry, I know that's not helpful for your situation but I am also really curious about the answers you get.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • I hope you get your 600 hours! I never understood why it says 400-600 hours online but it seems that everyone needs 600. I hate the Government websites, so uninformative and vague.

I hope to try calling again tomorrow, and if I get some answers I'll let you know :)
  • Loading the player...