January 2013 Moms

Nap Transition Advice?

We are (as I am sure others are) in that dreaded place where two naps is becoming too much and one nap is not enough. 

I have been cutting DD off at 3 hours of nap time a day for 3 months (she takes 2 naps, usually one in the morning for 90 plus minutes and a little shorter afternoon one) But now even that seems to be too much.  She wakes ready to party at night, has a harder time going back down, more restless. 

However, last week we tried the one nap thing and even when she took a fairly substantial nap she was an emotional wreck in the afternoon/evening.  I put her to bed early (630) and she slept AWESOME overnight (try 630 to 7 am with only one wakeup at 4) but it was not worth the sad baby I had in the evening.

So what do I do?  Keep 2 naps and fragmented night sleep for a cheerful baby or power through with one nap and see if she gradually gets used to the change?  Something in between?

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Nap Transition Advice?

• I think she will transition to one on her own. I have to read DS's cues when it comes to sleep. Some days he gets 2 long naps, sometimes 2 short and sometimes 1 nap, long or short. After reading the book healthy sleep habits happy child I've resolved to never wake my son from sleep unless absolutely necessary. And I've also learned to read his cues so that I'm putting him down as soon as he's tired. It's actually a really great book that is research based. It's got a lot of great information that I can even apply to my own sleep.
    Pregnancy Ticker
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker