January 2013 Moms

SAHMs... What's your day like?

I'm a political consultant and work from home. So far my DD is such a good sleeper and napper that I'm able to get most of my work and calls done while she sleeps.

I'm looking for ways to keep my DD and I busy and sane during the day. She's really social and we live in a high rise in Chicago. We go for a walk every day, even if its just 30 minutes of outside time to keep us from going stir-crazy. She definitely needs new toys, which is great with Christmas right around the corner.

Looking for ways to stay busy in and out of the apartment. Would love to hear what your days are like!
Our little Samosa arrives in January!

Re: SAHMs... What's your day like?

• We also live in a city, which I think makes it easier because there is so much to do within walking/subway distance.

Every week we go to library storytime, baby playtime at the neighborhood art center, a playgroup at our church, drop-in free play at the indoor kids gym/playplace, and all of our shopping is done with walks to various stores. When it is not too cold I try to go to a playground everyday; I rotate around since there are 7 within 3/4 of a mile of us.

That stuff is all free, though some of our playgroups and drop-in play charge once LO turns one. Sometimes I pay to go to a museum or event. If I were willing to pay, I could pack the day with music, art, movement, developmental, etc classes. There are so many. I don't have a car so we walk to everything, which often results in stops to a coffee shop, bakery, or bodega, and chats with the neighbors.
    And of course he plays at home alone and with me.
    IVF/ICSI #1 - BFP, DS born Jan 2013
    IVF/ICSI #2 - BFP, DD born Feb 2015
    IVF FET - BFP, due April 2017