Infertility

what determines ...(embryo question)

if an egg makes it to day 5?  I know about cells splitting but what determines or stops that?
Im new to ivf.  i had 5 eggs fertilized and am curious if all or any will make it to day 5.
i also want to get a better understanding of this
  • Iui 1: bfn
  • IUI 2with clomid: bfn
  • Iui 3 & 4 with clomid (same cycle) :BFP! but turned into an ectopic pregnancy. Bled for 3 months 
  • IUI 5 with clomid BFN  
  • October- IVF with ICSI  ER 10/27, 7 retrieved, 5 mature, 5 fertlized
    ET  11/1 transferred 2 froze 2
    BFP!!!!! on 11/11

Re: what determines ...(embryo question)

• Shortest explanation.... The quality of the egg and the quality of the sperm.
    Me: 38
    DX:  Adenomyosis, Compounded MTHFR, PAI-1 4G variant

DH: 34
    MFI due to Testicular Cancer

Married March 2012 <3
    IVF w/ICSI #1
    10 little polar bears
    FET #1 with 2 polar bears ~Nov 6, 2013 BFN :(
    FET # 2 with 2 more polar bears ~March 19, 2014 BFP!!!
    Beta 1= 276
    Beta 2= 662
    4/19/14 ~ baby A became an angel
    5/02/14 ~ baby B became an angel
    5/3/14 ~ D&C
    FET #3 with 1 male polar bear ~October 3, 2014
    October 13, 2014 ~ BFN
    Fur Children:  Memphis 3y, Dutch 3y, Marcel 2y, Meadow 1y

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    January 2015 Siggy Challenge TTCAL
    Animals Interacting with Snow

• Cells continue to grow or stop growing for a variety of factors, not all of which I understand.  In my case, chromosomal abnormalities caused the embryos to stop growing immediately after fertilization. 

Here's a blog I found that gives an overview. 
    I hope yours continue to develop and that you get great results!!
    Anniversary

TTC since 2008
    Dh:34, no issues.  Me:31, Endo, slightly hypothyroid, deformed ovary, paracentric inversion.
    4 Gonal-F, Cetrotide, HcG, Crinone +TI cycles= all BFN
    Lap in 2012 to remove large unresolving cyst discovered endo and double lobed ovary.